ZUMBA

Options

Replies

• joholloway
    Options
    Yeah Zumba is definitely not a low tier Exercise I use the zumba calorie counter and so far it seems to be pretty accurate, it bases it on your weight and teh intensity of the workout :):)

www.caloriesburnedhq.com/
  • mylesmami
    mylesmami Posts: 2
    Options
    I am a Zumba instructor and you can burn 500-1000 calories per hour, depending on your intensity level and how much you weigh. I wore a HRM during one of my classes and I burned 644 calories. It is FAR from a low tier exercise.
  • Math_Geek
    Math_Geek Posts: 67 Member
    Options
    There are Zumba classes at the Lifetime Fitness club I attend. I wear the Polar watch to track calories burned. One lady works our butts off and I burn around 650 in an hour. Switch instructors on Friday and I only burn around 450.

The difference is huge and quit noticeable. Zumba is usually the best part of my day. I highly recommend it as a rigorous aerobic exercise providing you get a good class.
  • 2Bgoddess
    2Bgoddess Posts: 1,096 Member
    Options
    My *kitten* is 127lbs lighter than it used to be. Zumba is my cardio....

Anyhow, I just went to the zumba website to see what kind of calories I'm burning, and then add them as "my exercises" under cardio. I easily reach 800 calories and hour doing Zumba at the gym. I've never done it on the Wii or anything, but I'm sure I wouldn't work as hard in the privacy of my home.

Though, naked zumba sounds like a lot of fun.

YOU are awesome. yep, Zumba is my cardio too. when i weighed 252, i burned 1000 calories in a 45 min. class. now at 170, I burn about 450 in 45 min. (less weight to lift, shake and jump)

Wear an HRM to be sure, the zumba calories sites are just not accurate enough.
  • bossladyday
    bossladyday Posts: 72 Member
    Options