Does MFP really over estimate exercise calories?

Options
I'm a newbie and have been trawling through a few topics, and noticed that quite a few times people have mentioned that MFP generally over estimates calories burned during exercise. I got a bit worried about eating back calories I didnt actually burn and did a bit of searching on the net - and almost every website has given me an answer very close to what MFP is telling me.

For example, if I jog 10 minutes at about 6mph - MFP tells me this is 103 calories. Lowest other estimation I could find online was the spark people website which estimated 96....not a significant difference. A few others estimated around 99/100.

A bit confused now, do others accept the figure MFP calculates for you or work it out on your own in another way?

Replies

• paulwgun
    paulwgun Posts: 439 Member
    Options
    I always use a Heart Rate Monitor a polar ft4 which is the most accurate way and during a spin class can burn between 500 - 710 calories depending on intensity and effort
  • meerkat70
    meerkat70 Posts: 4,616 Member
    Options
    Some people find it accurate, others (like me) find it overestimates, others find it underestimates.

Based just on anecdotal evidence and observation, I'd suggest it particularly overestimates for us larger people who also happen to be pretty fit. The formula it uses seems to assume that if you're big and run, it's going to take you close to death, in heart rate terms... :-D
  • kendrafallon
    kendrafallon Posts: 1,030 Member
    Options
    For me, it depends on the activity, walking for example, MFP is pretty much spot on. But for Tae Kwon Do, it was hugely out - at least double or even triple the value recorded by my HRM.
  • sandrajune72
    Options
    i also wear my HRM (polar FT4) whenever I exercise. For me, MFP pretty much always UNDERestimates.
  • SomeoneSomeplace
    SomeoneSomeplace Posts: 1,094 Member
    Options