Are there any nursing moms?

Options
Hello,
My name is Melissa, I have been using MFP off and on for a few years now but never really posted much.
I am a new mom and my baby girl is now 9 weeks and I am definately ready to lose this baby fat...I gained 60lbs (baby #4) of that she weighed 11lbs 8oz...lol I am trying to eat better and watch calories and excercise. Just not too sure on what my calories should be a day, I am allowing myself 1400 calories, I weigh 220 :cry: and I am 5'4"
I was also just reading some threads about the mirena which I just got last week and hope it doesn't hinder my weightloss efforts.
A few years ago I lost 50lbs with the help of MFP and another diet plan so having this weight back on is really depressing :yawn:

Thanks for any help or advice :smile:

Replies

• jenren85
    Options
    Just don't forget: if you are a nursing mom, your body tends to "hold on" to weight a bit more! And that's okay! I am still nursing my 13 month old (3rd baby). I just now feel like I've lost "all" my baby weight. Exercise really helps. When I used MFP during the first few months, I tracked my nursing habits as well (that builds in the extra calories you need). Now, since she's so old, I don't do that anymore.
    Hope you have great luck!
  • ahmommy
    ahmommy Posts: 316 Member
    Options
    I was a nursing mom, but unfortunately not anymore (although that doesn't have anything to do with me restricting calories). Be careful about eating too few calories - I wouldn't go less than 1800 while you're nursing. If you're exclusively nursing, you use up about 500 calories a day - these are the calories going into your milk to feed your baby. If you restrict your calories too much, it will cause your milk supply to decrease.