Working on your fitness at your work desk?

Options
Hey guys, I spend sooooo much time at my desk at work in front of my computer that its ridiculous (and as a matter of fact, I'm typing this on my office computer as we speak lol). I've been thinking lately that during downtime, I can easily work on some strength training while I sit here and make that empty time more productive, things that still look semi-professional (I don't wanna be in the middle of jumping jacks when patients walk up haha). Do any of you have exercises that you do while at your desk at work? So far, I've come up with leg lifts (the obvious) and bringing free weights in for curls......any other suggestions would be appreciated!

Replies

• elleloch
    elleloch Posts: 739 Member
    Options
    I will do random pushups throughout the day - not ones from the floor, but like slanted at an angle. I'm a radio journalist so when I'm at the mic I'll do pushups against the counter (not on air, of course :smile: )

Sounds cheesy - but remember Suzanne Somers and her Thigh Master? Lol - I have one. I think I stole it from my mom or something but it's easy to keep under my desk and I can do a few reps of those throughout the day. I'll also lift myself out of my chair with my arms or flex my butt/thigh muscles when I'm just sitting there.

Some people say that "just taking the stairs" won't make a big difference, but I always do because I think throwing in little things throughout the day can add up. So I always take the stairs, and if I have an assignment or an errand to run that's downtown, I'll just walk.
  • jaxdiablo
    jaxdiablo Posts: 580
    Options
    Kegels.
  • lindsy721
    lindsy721 Posts: 350 Member
    Options
    Tricep dips on the desk are always a winner, push-ups against it too also work. Lunges next to the desk were something I always did in the lab, too.
  • jsj024519
    jsj024519 Posts: 400 Member
    Options
    Kegels.

LOL
  • mrswilson0511
    mrswilson0511 Posts: 132 Member