Diary advice/judgement

Options
2»

Replies

• dsimpson112
    Options
    I have been a personal trainer and nutritional 'coach' for 25 years. I am semi retired but feelI know the field extremely well. When looking at your food diary I notice two things...

1) you are not eating often enough.
    2) a large portion of your meals are calorie dense.

Example: Breakfast (50-200 calories)
    Snack: (none)
    Lunch: (400 calories)
    Dinner: (700ish calories)

You are eating the appropriate amount of daily calories, BUT, you are cramming them in and they are spaced too far apart.

Why this matters:

Your body needs fuel to function. Too much fuel? Your body stores it as fat for later use. Not enough fuel? Your body goes into its 'reserves' (stored fat) and uses it as fuel. If you wake up at 7am and eat 50-100 calories before starting your day, your body has 50-100 units of available energy (fuel) between then and the next time you eat. If your body uses those units up by 10am and you do not eat again until 12pm, it gets the rest of the fuel that it needs from its reserves (stored fat). This is obviously a good thing when you are trying to lose weight, but you will feel a little tired and sluggish until your next meal. This is the reason you eat a snack at 10am...so your blood sugar levels do not drop drastically and when noon time comes and it's time for lunch, you don't feel the need to eat 4-500 calories (or kill someone, lol)

So you skipped your 10am snack...you feel a little edgy but you're 'ok' and hey, you have been burning that stored fat you want to loose for two hours! Win, right?! Wrong, and here is why...