Another Tall Guy, Just Starting This Adventure

Options
Hello! I'm Caleb, 25, 6'3", full time grad student, and right on the border of seeing a 3 at the front of my weight. Last week touched 297 and I'm finally deciding that it is too freaking much. I've been gaining weight pretty steadily since high school. I played soccer and basketball and could eat just about whatever I wanted since I had practice just about every day. I graduated weighing in the 190-195 range. Did OK my first year of college, but my eating habits deteriorated significantly (when a pizza place delivers till midnight with a students discount it's delicious, but not the healthiest). I stayed fairly active my first year, year and a half but then spent less and less time in the gym playing basketball and other intramurals. It was one of those things that just slowly crept up on me, and then I had to start bumping up sizes in my pants. Told myself I was going to lose a bunch of weight before I got married 3 years ago when I was in the 250 range, but that never happened. Said the same thing several other times over the past couple years and work out and eat healthy for a week or two.

Over the past year I've sporadically been doing some running and have ran/walked a few 5ks which have been fun but I just haven't been consistent in anything. So to really make a commitment, I'm signed up to run the St. Jude Children's Hospital in December with my dad and younger brother. I'm hoping a concrete goal and timeline will help me (plus I don't want to have a heart attack on the race course). My other two big NSV's that will be end goals are the Memphis in May triathlon they do every spring and to dunk a basketball. When I was in HS, I could kinda sorta almost dunk. I figure if I get myself slimmed down I can work on that vertical and FLUSH one. I think my goal weight will be somewhere in the 195-215 range, we'll see what kinda build I'm going to end up with.

Before (i.e. Senior Year of HS)