Exercise calories???

Options
How do you guys go about treating all your exercise calories? I feel like I am getting nothing accomplished if I eat back all my calories. I work out alot so I usually have atleast an extra 400-1000.

Replies

• j_g4ever
    j_g4ever Posts: 1,925 Member
    Options
    When I talked to my doctor about it and she told me not to worry about eating back my exercise calories till I'm in maintenance mode.
  • Changeisgonnacome
    Options
    The site sets you at a deficit and so if you don't eat back your exercise cals and you are burning from 400 to 1000 your daily net intake will be way under 1200 cals per day which will cause starvation mode. Which means your body will retain all you eat. I have been battling starvation mode for 20 years and am finally winning the battle. After starting to eat my exercise calories I finally began losing AND I'm eating more than I have in years.
  • CinthyNair
    Options
    I eat some of my exercise calories, but I always have about 300-400 left over. I don't worry about it, as occasionally I will go over (esp on weekends), so it kind of works out for now :)
  • FitChickBritt
    FitChickBritt Posts: 161 Member
    Options
    I have my daily intake set to lose weight, but its set at the minimun 1200, for me to lose about a pound a week. I've been having my 1200 calories but also eating back most of my exercise calories and have stayed the same for about 5-6 months. I prob don't NEED to lose 5 more pounds, but 5 pounds would put me at my goal which would be nice to hit.

Are you saying your Dr. said to eat or not eat your exercise calories until maintenance? It seems to not be helping me.
  • Sunsh1ne
    Sunsh1ne Posts: 879 Member
    Options
    It's hard to tell since there's very little information on your profile to go by, but as a rule of thumb, eat back at least about half of your exercise calories. When you work out, you need to eat BARE MINIMUM your BMR, or your metabolism gets cranky.