weight lifting at home

Options
Is anyone willing to share their routine? I do not have access to a gym --- I do everything at home. At this point, I have dumbbells with weights up to 42 pounds each. I am looking into getting a barbell and squat rack, and eventually more weight. I am a beginner, only 2 months in, but I am looking to modify and improve my workout.

I am also not allowed (doctors orders) to do chest exercises. This is a forever thing. Any suggestions for modification would be appreciated. Right now, I am doing planks in place of pushups.

Thanks!

Replies

• vsetter
    vsetter Posts: 558 Member
    Options
    No one wants to share? :)
  • trishadams
    trishadams Posts: 104 Member
    Options
    Have you considered checking out New Rules of Lifting for Women? There are also a ton of great wos on DVD you can check out. My favorites are from Cathe Friedrich. Also, some of her wos use just dumbbells.
  • Thundermountain
    Options
    Well, I belong to a gym, However, I have a home gym as well...
    You posted that you have some dumbbells and that is great. Hopefully you have a nice bench. That is a great start. TRX systems are nice for a few things.. (TRX is nothing more than a couple of straps hanging from the wall).

Lots of different routines, and everyone has there opinions. One that has worked for many over the years is something like this.

Sunday - Cardio day,, leave the weights alone
    Monday - Biceps and Triceps - Do standing dumbbell curls, and some seated dumbbell curls.. triceps, do some dumbbell pushbacks or some skullcrushers (light weight extend over head concentrating on the tris)
    Tuesday - Legs - Squats with some weights in your hands. Lunges and reverse lunges.
    Wednesday - Typcially a good chest day. Since you do not do chest... you can take a break or do some cardio
    Thursday - Shoulders (military press with dumbbells, some front raises and some lateral raises, get some shrugs in there)