Adding Bicycling to activities.

Options
I am just starting out, and am seemingly full of questions training, and limits. First, I have to say that since I first decided that 300+ pounds was too much to be carrying around, I have made it down to the 230-ish mark and am happy to continue in that direction.

I have been doing about 20 minutes of treadmill daily, along with an hour and a half or so of weight training every other day, and it's paying off, at least in my mind. I'm feeling better, I know my cardio is better, as on the treadmill, I have no problem going as long as I want, and never leave (Polar fitness term) Zone 2 (124- 108) on the Polar FT60 that I use to monitor my heart rate.

However, I have recently purchased a used mountain type bike, and want to be able to use it to go geocaching (another passion of mine), and think it would be fun to be able to ride 5 - 8 miles and collect the geocaches around the area. One thing I've found is that bike riding isn't as easy as it was when I was 12. It seems that my heart rate almost immediately goes into the "zone 3", and frequently moves on up into the "out of range" zone, (for me, around 150-155). When I notice this, I stop, and huff and puff until my rate goes back solid into zone 2, then go some more. I was doing this every day, as I really want to be able to be able to do the geocaching thing. However, the Polar Fitness site states that I'm "very close to overtraining; spend less time in zone 3".. and my "training load" is way in the "red" area (for those who know what I'm talking about). When I'm doing weight training, the training load is around 85, if I ride the bike and treadmill in the same day, it's way over 100, sometimes reaching 150.