Inexpensive athletic shoe suggesetions?

Options
I do a hybrid of P90X, Tony Horton's One-on-one, P90X Plus and pilates. Also important to note, I am a BROKE college student! :laugh: My tennis/ running shoes that I have now are in desperate need of replacement. The problem is, tennis shoes are NOT cheap. All my workouts, expect the pilates, tend to have high impact aspects... I want something that will give adequate support/ protection but not kill my wallet!!

The less expensive the better. Oh, yes, I am flat footed which adds another thing in there.

Thanks all!! :drinker:

Replies

• arewethereyet
    arewethereyet Posts: 18,702 Member
    Options
    I would seriously check out Ebay and Craigslist for last years models of this years shoe.

I hate to say it but cheap is not good when you are doign those high impact exercises. I am a product of cheap shoes and my feet have gone to hell in a handbasket before I even turn 50.

If you can only by cheap shoes, invest 10 bucks for inserts at foot locker. That is what the podiatrist told me anyway.

Good luck!!!
  • BamaRose0107
    Options
    I usually buy an off brand running shoe and put inserts in to give me extra support. I have high arches so no matter how expensive the shoe I still end up having to buy inserts or my feet kill me.
  • thirtyby40
    thirtyby40 Posts: 702 Member
    Options
    They usually have great running shoe sales on boxing day, although March is the best time of year for variety. The brand Avia are inexpensive and good quality. They are real leather which is key and the shanks are poly not cardboard (like most cheap runners). Also make sure it is a running shoe or cross trainer, stay away from walkers and fitness shoes for high impact activities. Make sure you discuss its actual purpose with the sales associate. Some shoes look like runners and are actually just fashion athletics.

Hope that helps...
  • Ashia1317
    Options