cycling my way to get fit

Options

Replies

• heybales
    heybales Posts: 18,842 Member
    Options
    I recently started riding regularly, in the last month and I love it. So much faster than running, easier on my knees, the scenery changes and my only complaint is the bumps! My rear is finally starting to toughen up after riding 3-4 times a week for the last few weeks. I need a new seat or a pad.

Any tips on buying a seat? I see the thick cushioned seats but they are wide, should I stick with the narrow seat for easier leg movement and pedaling? i always thought those wide seats were more for the grandma riding to the store.

I'd suggest the padded shorts, and a seat proper for your sit bones.

If you can still find carbon paper, on a hard flat chair with paper underneath the carbon, probably some on top too. Sit on that thing and when you feel your sit-bones hitting the chair (may have to raise legs slightly), really try to get that feeling you are helping to make an impression, pushing them into the chair.

Now you have the general width of your sit-bones, measure from strongest contact point to the other. You want a seat that allows them to rest in the side-middle of the seat (middle if you look at just half the seat), near the back.

Cut-out seats work for many, slight dip in the middle if yours needs to be really wide.

Squishy saddle padding is commented by many that whatever padding is not exactly where it needs to be - will eventually squish up into areas you definitely don't want it to be. It can make some areas much worse.

Whereas short's padding usually is built that way, cut-outs where not needed.

The bumps are also better if you are NOT sitting straight up-right with more weight over the rear, stretched forward balancing is better for that. Sometimes instance adjustment like that helps if you see it coming.