BEST Protein Powder?

Options
I am wondering what the best protein powder is? My nutritionalist told me VEGA? I'm just wanting a few more opinions. Also what are all of its uses? Can you cook, bake with it? Is it just for drinking? I've never used one before. Not looking for a meal replacement but to use as a snack and maybe just to up protein in meals that are lacking! Thoughts?

Replies

• flechero
    flechero Posts: 260 Member
    Options
    You'll get 20 different answers... much it is just preference to taste. I'll tell you that I like Optimum Nutrition brand and use the 100% natural whey (and natural oats & whey) powders... I like vanilla. They mix easier (which make a ton of difference) than most brands and I think the taste is much better than the rest. (of anything I have tried) I also use the Optimum Nutrition soy powder, and while it's not as tasty... it is half the price. SO depending on your needs, priorities and tastes... there could be any number of products that are the best for you.

You can cook, drink, bake and mix all of them pretty universally.

Pay attention to what's in it.. protein isolates are the most pure form and most expensive, followed by concentrates, and other forms.

Edited to add that I mix with frozen banana, strawberry, blueberries, etc.in milk (soy) for breakfast shakes and then do similar in juice for post work out smoothies. You can use them in lots of different ways and places.
  • denezy
    denezy Posts: 573 Member
    Options
    I found vega to be totally gross. I use maximized living perfect protein, which is ridiculously expensive but absolutely delicious. I cook with it and make my own protein bars. Love love love it! Oh, and it is whey.
  • hughtwalker
    hughtwalker Posts: 2,213 Member
    Options
    do you HAVE to buy protein powder? Couldn't you just eat them in groceries?
  • pinkandstars09
    Options