need hellp and advice on losing 100 pounds

Options
please help me !! i am new to counting calories and exercising. i lost 20 pounds by just eating healthier and dropping the junk food and exercising - but only a little bit. can anybody out there give me some advice on how to lose this 100 lbs. do i need to join a gym? i do water aerobics which is very low impact because of lower back pain and i ride my exercise bike. please help me out with some advice. mfp says i need to eat 1370 calories a day. and when i work out they say i need to eat more. do i stay at 1390 when i exercise. or should i go with the 1200 minimum? help!!!

Replies

• Tensky
    Options
    The water aerobics and bike are great. Other exercise that can be good for people with joint/muscle problems are things like pilates, yoga, tai chi (basically, strength and flexibility training). But it depends on the type of injury you've got. Always stop if you feel pain, always start slow and small. Don't risk hurting yourself further. Your doctor might be able to give you some other advice. When you're able to, add walking to your exercise, but looking at your profile, that might be a ways off.

Joining a gym might not be the best right now if your back is that bad. You might not be able to use a lot of the equipment just yet, and many of the classes would be too severe as well. Look around at the gyms in your area, and see what kind of facilities they have. Some gyms do cater to people with mobility problems but most don't. Also, be aware of PTs that try to 'push' you. They don't know your limits better than you do, and you always have to be able to stop when you feel you need to, not when they think you should. It can cause great damage to push yourself too hard, especially when you already have back problems. You might find a gym that fits, but if you don't there's no point wasting your money on a membership you can't use.