what can you substitute?

Options
I know there are several things you can swap out and substitute a good for a bad when cooking/baking and I was just wondering what are some of the substitutes you all use? My family loves brownies and someone told me you can substitute applesauce for the oil, is that true? I am new to this healthy lifestyle and am trying to learn as I go...Thanks in advance!

Replies

• wellbert
    wellbert Posts: 3,924 Member
    Options
    What kind of oil? Why not just use a healthy oil like coconut oil? Chances are you need the good fats more than you need additional fructose.

Or coconut flour/almond flour instead of refined white flour. (takes some trying)
  • Elainejk21
    Elainejk21 Posts: 121 Member
    Options
    I pretty much always substitute plain, unsweetened applesauce for my muffins, cakes, brownies. I buy the snack size versions since each "cup" is 1/2 cup and I typically don't use more than that at one time. If the recipe calls for 1/4 cup oil, use 1/4 applesauce.
  • _danjo_
    _danjo_ Posts: 134 Member
    Options
    Yes, you can sub applesauce for oil. I often do half/half.

Google for "black bean brownies." I know it sounds gross on the outside, but they really are good--and my family never knew the difference! Also, there are flourless recipes.

Instead of white flour I use whole wheat pastry flour. It is as fine as white so gives the same results, and again, my family never knew.
  • lettie1955
    Options
    What kind of oil? Why not just use a healthy oil like coconut oil? Chances are you need the good fats more than you need additional fructose.

Or coconut flour/almond flour instead of refined white flour. (takes some trying)

Coconut oil is horrible!
  • lettie1955
    Options
    Yes, you can sub applesauce for oil. I often do half/half.

Google for "black bean brownies." I know it sounds gross on the outside, but they really are good--and my family never knew the difference! Also, there are flourless recipes.