Looking for a good Pilates workout

Happyoceangirl
Happyoceangirl Posts: 1,993 Member
edited September 20 in Fitness and Exercise
I've never done Pilates before, but would like to try it and hopefully incorporate it into my fitness routine this year. I'd love to hear recommendations and suggestions for DVD workouts - as well as to hear about results you've gotten. Also curious - does there seem to be a benefit to going to a class vs. a home based DVD workout?

Replies

• kandyjo
    kandyjo Posts: 4,493 Member
    :drinker: I have the Windsor Pilates set... I did them once a while ago.. I like them, but I haven't done them in a long while... I have been doing so many other things!! But, now that I read your post, it reminded me that I have them, so I'm going to dig them out and incorporate them into my weekly workout....thanks!
  • Happyoceangirl
    I had those so long ago - when I was waaay to out of shape to use them. Wish i still had them today. Did some online research and "Pilates for Dummies" was recommended for it's instructional value and also beginner and intermediate workouts. Will give them a try.

Have fun with yours - let me know if you find it's worth doing!
  • I do standing pilates, its a little different than regular pilates. I have Ellen Barretts DVD Fat Burning Pilates and Burn and Firm Pilates. Its fun and I like it because I get the toning and core stengthening from the pilates and also cardio.
  • kandyjo
    kandyjo Posts: 4,493 Member
    I had those so long ago - when I was waaay to out of shape to use them. Wish i still had them today. Did some online research and "Pilates for Dummies" was recommended for it's instructional value and also beginner and intermediate workouts. Will give them a try.

Have fun with yours - let me know if you find it's worth doing!

My sister has Pilates for Dummies and LOVES it.... We keep saying that we are going to combine our aresonal of workout DVD's and workout together, but we haven't yet :laugh: