When to start Maintaining!

Options
Since I have joined this site I have lost 20 pounds so far, although I am still 10 pounds away from my goal weight 140 I think it's time to start maintaining my current weight. I have targeted the reason for my last weight gain: too much sugar. And have cut down sugary sweets a lot.

It would be nice to be 140 but I feel very sluggish and hungry all the time so I'm not too sure, my BMI is still 24, so close to the Overweight category so I'm not sure if I should still try to lose 10 more pounds, what do you guys think?

Replies

• drvvork
    drvvork Posts: 1,162
    Options
    I'm not an expert in this area, by any means :happy: , but would think if you have reached a comfortable weight it would be fine to work on a maintenance program for a time and see how you feel. If it becomes and issue then you can reduce that last 10 pounds. Congratulations on your success.

Betty
  • lulabellewoowoo
    lulabellewoowoo Posts: 3,125 Member
    Options
    My thoughts? If you are feeling sluggish and tired, try maintaining for a month or two, give your body a little time to readjust and enjoy the new YOU. Then work on those last 10 lb, but at 0.5 a week and do it slowly. That way you'll have a decent amount of calories to keep you going.

Great job on your wonderful success!
  • SHBoss1673
    SHBoss1673 Posts: 7,161 Member
    Options
    well, finally a subject that I feel like an expert on. LOL! I've been at maintenance for about a year now, and I'm happy to say that I have been quite successful at it.

So first lets examine what maintenance really is and is not.

Maintenance is NOT:
    - slacking off of your exercise. If anything you need to do MORE!
    - Allowing yourself to change your diet to accommodate more of the "bad" foods.
    - changing how you live your life.

Maintenance IS:
    - a slight adjustment of your current diet to include a few more healthy snacks, or a small increase in your snack sizes.