stick or auto

Options

Replies

• ChitownFoodie
    ChitownFoodie Posts: 1,562 Member
    Options
    Stick! ♥♥♥ I miss my GTI. Owning an automatic now makes me not want to drive.
  • Dr_sparky
    Dr_sparky Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    Stick... learnt first on stick and I just can't get used to driving an auto in the states... especially going up hills when it shifts up five seconds after it should. Though I must admit I do acknowledge the benefits in town driving... however for long journeys... definately stick. I'm an engineer and used to work on developing the electronics for off-hire trucks and shifting algorithms were always an issue. Humans are just way better than any machine. My husband is putting a V8 into an MGB that will be fantastic to drive once its back on the road.
  • taunto
    taunto Posts: 6,420 Member
    Options
    In the states where I have lived mainly in smaller towns, auto.

In bigger cities and the rest of the world, I prefer stick (You have to zoom out as soon as the light turns green)

Fun fact, in UK you cannot operate a stick if you passed the exam on an automatic but if you passed using a stick shift, you are allowed to run an automatic also
  • SocWkrBee
    SocWkrBee Posts: 374
    Options
    I wish I could drive a stick. I wanted to learn, when I was first learning to drive and my dad told me "good luck finding someone who will let you burn up their clutch"! :tongue: Needless to say, I couldn't find anyone.

My car now has both, but I only use the automatic.
  • guardian419
    guardian419 Posts: 391 Member
    Options
    eclipse is a performance car?? :huh:
  • alaskaang
    alaskaang Posts: 493 Member
    Options
    I love my automatic for every day driving.

BUT - I have a blast driving my retro '65 Ford P30 Boyertown Merchandiser with a 3 on the tree!
  • pawnstarNate
    pawnstarNate Posts: 1,728 Member
    Options