HRM/PolarFT4 question...

Options
Please help me figure this out. I've had my HRM for 2 weeks now so I'm still learning. I can't figure out how the "in zone" works. For example: I biked (stationary) for 69 minutes and it said that I was in the zone for 57 of those minute. Max HR was 143 and Avg was 128. Biking is not my exercise of choice, it doesn't "do much" for me, I'm a runner. So as I eased back into running last week (was taking a week off for injury), one run was for 34 minutes and it said I was in the zone for only 41 seconds! My Max HR was 192 and avg was 184. How could I hardly be in the zone if I was working harder than when I was biking?! Same goes for other workouts that produced a higher HR than the biking. I don't get it... Do I have to set the "zone" setting to something different?

Replies

• juldga
    juldga Posts: 119
    Options
    I hate my polar ft4 I am never in the zone and it says I burn hardly any calories. JUNK
  • Mokey41
    Mokey41 Posts: 5,769 Member
    Options
    I totally ignore that zone option because it really means nothing. I turned off all the annoying beeps that alert you as well. The HRM has set "zones" based on the info you gave it but as far as I've been able to determine there is no "fat burning zone" to be in.

I just use it to monitor my HR and track my calorie burn because it has my "zone" as between 109 and 142 bpm which rarely happens when I run.
  • Mokey41
    Options
    I hate my polar ft4 I am never in the zone and it says I burn hardly any calories. JUNK

Then you need to pick it up a bit because the zones are pretty low set. It doesn't take much effort to hit the low end of the first zone. If your HR is out the top end of the zone you should be burning a significant amount.
  • tressatnt
    Options