my job is making me gain weight!!

Options
i'm a teacher - just lost 20 pounds over the summer .... i tend to lose something every summer .... and gain it all back through the year due to candy drawer in the work center, high school foods class samples passed out, kids who work at restaurants bringing in leftovers .... have NO MOTIVATION or WILLPOWER if it is in front of me ... how do you all cope if you work around food?!??!

Replies

• Retiredmom72
    Retiredmom72 Posts: 538 Member
    Options
    Before retiring I had a wonderful secretary who had the candy bowl on her desk for those stressful moments. There were food samples and other food items. Walk a little extra and have the extra calorie burn for that 1 little piece. Give the sample to a student who will be asking you to share anyway. You can do it!
  • DrMAvDPhD
    DrMAvDPhD Posts: 2,097 Member
    Options
    1. Stop blaming the job/food. You make you gain weight.
    2. Before you accept a handout, whip out your phone and look up the calories it contains. Have your day pre-logged, so you know if you have room for the snack. If you don't have room, find a place to make room (don't eat a planned snack) or calculate how much extra cardio you'll need to squeeze in to make room.
  • clarkeje1
    clarkeje1 Posts: 1,636 Member
    Options
    Bring a ton of healthy snacks and if something gets passed around in class shove something healthy in your mouth before you can do anything else lol Also drink a bunch of water, eat enough during the day to where you aren't starving if ppl are sharing food, and chew gum. If any of those methods don't work then either work out a lot more or else I dunno what to tell you! lol
  • magerum
    magerum Posts: 12,589 Member
    Options
    Willpower is something that can be strengthen'd as well. It's really the only way. Not trying to be overly harsh.
  • 48Tara
    48Tara Posts: 10
    Options