No gym membership...ideas for workouts

Options
I don't have a gym membership but would still like to get in a good workout everyday. Anyone have any favorite workouts or exercises they do without the gym? Would love to hear some ideas! I'm a beginner so take it easy on me! ;)

Replies

• petitepedal
    Options
    Walking is great!! I have some hand weights/bar bells and I do bicep & tri curls, sit-ups/crunches, push-ups, and just some basics. Some with weights some without. I don't have kettle bells but I use one of my weights and swing it while doing a squat (I can feel that in my legs the next day). If you have room in your home, keep an eye out for used exercise equipment (or rather un-used) Often you can find a rowing machine or a bicycle going cheap...because it was purchased with good intentions and ended up being a clothes hanger. Another option is an exercise dvd. I have one that I try to use twice a week..It starts out okay but ends with a bang. I typically do the first 15 minutes of the 25 minute workout.

Good Luck!
  • gargisingh
    gargisingh Posts: 123 Member
    Options
    My favorite no-gym exercises:

- Run (prepare for a race. Making a target always helps.)
    - Bike (to work?)
    - Walk (to the neighboring grocery store)
    - Burpees (anywhere possible- even 5 burpees get my heart rate UP)
    - push ups on the floor, dips from the chair
    - Abs: hold the plank for 30-60 seconds, crunches and other ab exercises. There are many on google.
    - Resistance strength training. (Get some resistance bands and google exercises. There you go!)
  • meau67
    meau67 Posts: 6
    Options
    There are all kinds of quick workouts on Pinterest, videos, follow along charts,whole plans. . . .
  • strawberrytoast
    strawberrytoast Posts: 711 Member
    Options
    youtube has loads of workouts so you know what to do in a pattern.

walking/jogging

wii/xbox fitness games
  • omnisis
    omnisis Posts: 85 Member
    Options