Exercise and Night Shift

Once again, I had a HORRIBLE sleep. I think I just may have to limit my exercises to days that I'm off work. Doesn't seem to matter what type of exercise I do (light, mod, heavy). I can't fall asleep or stay asleep and I wake up repeatedly STARVING whether or not I eat before I go to bed! Insane! Does anyone else experience this? Any advice?

Replies

• dabrion
    dabrion Posts: 9 Member
    Are you working out just before you go to bed?
  • Cjoseph03
    Cjoseph03 Posts: 107 Member
    Usually I do. If I work out before my shift, I'm tired, lethargic and sore. I'm still new to the working out and being a floor nurse, being tired and lethargic are not a good option for me! At first blush, going for a nice 2 mile walk is relaxing, helps me to unwind and I think I can go to sleep. But it never works.
  • I always work out before shifts, day or night. I know what you mean about feeling sore but I find that walking it out at work eases it more than exercising and going straight to bed! I exercise almost immediately then eat breakfast, shower and go to work. I often find I am too lethargic (mentally and physically) after a shift! What exercise do you do?
  • dabrion
    dabrion Posts: 9 Member