49, Doc says loose weight, here I am, 5lbs so far

Options
Been at it a week. It's tough, giving up a lot that I'm used to. Oh well, getting up in those years, gotta do what ya gotta do.

Replies

• angeliqueann
    angeliqueann Posts: 213 Member
    Options
    You can do it!

good job on the 5lbs
  • californiagirl2012
    californiagirl2012 Posts: 2,625 Member
    Options
    Been at it a week. It's tough, giving up a lot that I'm used to. Oh well, getting up in those years, gotta do what ya gotta do.

I lost it at age 50. ITS NEVER TOO LATE. I've been maintaining for over a year. My life has changed. I have always been physically active, even when I raised my kids who are grown and married now. I gained 60 lbs over the years and didn't think I'd ever be as fit as when I was 19, but it turns out I'm more fit now and leaner than I was then after losing the weight at age 50. I've been maintaining for over a year now at almost 52. I'm a retired software engineer, and volunteer as a sheriff deputy. Now I volunteer to write fitness articles and will be volunteering to give fitness chats at sports events.

Here's my tips:

Your body loses weight in chunks, not linear. I have found that you can do everything right and your weight loss seems to plateau but if you are patient and keep exercising and eating at a deficit (however slight) you will lose it, it will suddenly "whoosh". There are so many variables for the scale; water retention, digestion, hormones, allergies, sodium, carbs, water intake, DOMS, inflammation, the list goes on. People mistakenly think they lose or gain weight when they eat more or less because of these fluctuations.