NSV: Jeans

Options
elyelyse
elyelyse Posts: 1,454 Member
It's been at least 6 years since I bought jeans in a "regular" store. (and not a big girl store). Probably 5 years since I've worn anything that doesn't stretch a lot.

I've been traveling for about 2 months, visiting national parks, camping and staying in motels. I've been disciplined, I've made great food choices, I've been active...but I haven't been on a scale. I have no idea what I weigh, and all my clothes are stretchy, so they're no use for indicating my progress. Before I left i was down almost 50 pounds, but I still could not get a pair of old worn-in size 18 jeans even up over my hips.

Yesterday, a Gap Outlet jumped out into the middle of the road and grabbed me (they carry XXL so some stretchy things fit.) I saw a pretty dress in a size 20 and thought "well, it probably won't fit, but let's just see how far it is from fitting.

It was too big.

I assumed it was a sizing fluke, just one item cut big. I thought to myself "try on jeans. Jeans don't lie." I went to grab a pair of size 20s, knowing in my mind they would not fit, but maybe they would be close and even that would be a success in my mind (I started my weight loss journey around a size 28) they didn't carry 20, the largest was 18. I KNEW they wouldnt fit, but they'd still be a good indicator of my progress.

I brought them to the dressing room. I psyched myself up "it's ok if these don't fit. I don't expect them to fit. Let's just see how far up I can pull them."

They slid up over my thighs. Over my hips and my big *kitten*. Over my belly. I was even able to zip them half way up and I looked in the mirror and almost cried. Size 18 jeans almost fit me. It was such a huge moment, I had to sit down. I called my mom and she was so happy for me she yelled "BUY THEM ANYWAY". I love her.