I want to get strong!

Options
I am new to all this fitness stuff - never really done any proper exercise at all and I am such a weakling!

I have a lot of weight to lose but I want to get strong and toned not to just end up lighter.

Just started but I currently do a Zumba class for an hour on Monday and Tuesday and that is about it! I have an exercise bike and have just ordered some weights.

Super duper motivated at the moment! I want to feel healthy and not like I am decades older than my actual age.

I am not sure what exercises to do with weights when they arrive. I have some 1.1 kg dumbbells but that sounds tiny after what I have read on here!

What are the best exercises for a beginner?

How often should I do them? (Consecutive or non-consecutive days?)

Should I eat differently to get strong / build muscle or take any supplements?

I have a Tracy Anderson DVDs (which I haven't been doing!) and she says not to use weights more than 3lbs but women here are lifting more than that!

Also I am thinking of getting a Jillian Michaels DVD - is that something to do as well as weights or instead of weights?

Are there any sites / books / DVDs that you recommend?

Sorry for all the questions! :blushing: I just don't want to jump into this without knowing what I am doing and end up doing myself a mischief!

Replies

• FunkBunny
    FunkBunny Posts: 417 Member
    Options
    You will get a lot of replies on this I'm sure, and a popular one will be to lift and lift HEAVY! Check out New Rules For Lifting For Women. (NRFLFW)
    Lifting heavy is very good for building nice, strong FEMININE muscles, not bulk! And it is great for making bones stronger as well, helping to fight future osteo issues.
    Another site I was turned on to is simplyshredded.com. They have a whole womens fitness section and a nice breakdown of a 12 week beginners program!

Best of luck!
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,401 MFP Moderator
    Options