How come I'm not losing weight?

Options

Replies

• Vaisaxena
    Vaisaxena Posts: 109 Member
    Options
    You are not eating enough, your body is in starvation mode and it refuses to let any more fat leave.

So not true. Your body will not be in starvation mode.

agree with this- at over 300lb, i doubt that starvation mode is responsible here- the body has plenty of back up energy stores (i did a degree in this so i know what im talking about :P) what i would agree with is to change your diet up a bit more- change what your eating, if your eating lots of salty things it could be water retention- hard to know with a closed diary, but lots of good ideas for you on here :)

Incorrect. Starvation mode is not defined as "having enough fat to feed your body"... it is defined as "the stress of not being able to fuel your body to maintain the status quo". Regardless of your bodyweight, your body will down-regulate your metabolism via T3 and Leptin after chronic calorie restriction....

What boosts T3 (thyroid hormone)? --- Calorie surplus.
    What boosts Leptin? --- Carbohydrate overfeeding.

the answer?... you need a CHEAT DAY (or two). I always recommend my clients to cheat every week regardless of their bodyweight - it works.
  • puddy29
    Options
    i'm 5'6 311 pounds and mfp gives me 1650 cals. per day. i think you are not eating enough and you are working out which gives even more calories. i say try eating more.
  • WinnerVictorious
    WinnerVictorious Posts: 4,735 Member
    Options
    You are not eating enough, your body is in starvation mode and it refuses to let any more fat leave.