Success with upping calories

Options
13»

Replies

• Belinda658
    Belinda658 Posts: 181 Member
    Options
    I'm a week into this. Ate too high carbs though and had heavier than normal TTOM. Scales weren't nice to me today an I feel so full and bloated. Sticking with I though
  • Topsking2010
    Topsking2010 Posts: 2,245 Member
    Options
    Bump
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,402 MFP Moderator
    Options
    The same thing happened to me. I increased my calories from 1800 to 2600 awhile ago and saw immediate weight loss.
  • Love_flowers
    Love_flowers Posts: 365 Member
    Options
    I have and still am having success with eating more to lose weight. Safe, healthy and achieveable.
  • wswilliams67
    wswilliams67 Posts: 938 Member
    Options
    I'm new at this so forgive me if this has been explained 3000 times BUT... why the less 15%?

Also, if I did that I would have somewhere around 1400 calories to eat a day. Then are you saying after you exercise you eat those back as well (possibly putting my totals at or somewhere near 2000 cals/day)?

If you calculate your TDEE as sedentary (no exercise at all) then you need to subtract some percentage to achieve weight loss. usually 15% = 1 pound per week of weight loss, but morbidly obese folks can do 20% safely. NEVER more than 30% (2 pounds/week) or you will hit a wall and shut down your metabolism, then you'll have to increase your calories to TDEE to get it going again.

I'll use myself as an example since I do not know your stats... I use http://www.cordianet.com/calculator.htm and use the Body Fat % calculator because it's more accurate based on my current physiology and not just age/height US standards.

My current weight: 274
    My current BF%: 34%
    My goal BF%: 9%
    Exercise Level: Moderate (3-5 days/week)

With those stats...

Estimated Base BMR: 2141 Calories.
    Estimated TDEE: 3319 Calories.
    Estimated Daily Caloric Need For 1 Pound/Week Weight Loss: 2819 Calories.