How do you control binge eating?

I'm a newbie (3 days in).

My problem with foods is that I love it! I've never been into sweets that much (but of course I have my guilty pleasures here and there) and as far as chips and stuff I only like about 4 kinds and I don't eat them often. My problem is I'm a huge binger! Oh and I'm a carb abuser.

SO I guess what I'm asking is is there any food that I can snack on to give me that "full" or "satisfied" feeling?
And what foods should I eat if I feel a binge coming on that could curb the urge?
Or is this just 100% mind over matter?! :sad:

Replies

• monty619
    monty619 Posts: 1,308 Member
    slowly cut calories, and dont go into a large caloric defecit EVER.
  • jeanine89
    jeanine89 Posts: 95 Member
    I was like this too. I SAY EAT! I don't eat three meals a day. I eat lots of little meals, it makes it seem like you get to eat a lot more food which makes the binges not as bad. Also, slow down when you eat I know its hard but savor every bite. Eat at the table, turn off the tv and computer, and concentrate on the food. (after all we all love food). I know you heard this before but drink water even when your not thirsty. Find something else to do when you get hungry like watching a movie or like me I knit blankets if my hands are too busy they can't be throwing food in my face. Good luck the first week is very hard but you can do this your already heading in the right direction by setting goals.
  • PriceK01
    PriceK01 Posts: 834 Member
    I've been trying to avoid a feeding frenzy today. Boneless skinless chicken breast works for me when I'm wanting to binge. It can be cooked a million different ways. It's what I usually eat for dinner, so I always make enough for leftovers. Whenever I'm wanting to pig out, my little containers of leftovers are ready. High in protein, low in fat and carbs :)
  • newmein2013
    newmein2013 Posts: 674 Member