is calf size more genetic?

Options
I have always had very small calves no matter what I do. My 11 year old daughter pointed out to me that mine were smaller than hers. I work as a roofer on my feet all day carrying things up ladders and the guys I work with doing the same thing have massive calves. I measured them at 11.25 and looking at the average on line that is quite small.

Do genetics play a big role in calf size?

Replies

• BarackMeLikeAHurricane
    Options
    In small part genetic, mostly diet and activity level. I'm fairly lean but my calves are a pretty good size. I've noticed throughout my weight loss/fitness journey my bust, waist, and hip measurements have decreased, but my forearm, upper arm, thigh, and calf measurements have gone up. It really just comes down to how much muscle you have on your calves and how much fat you have. Where you store fat is genetic so you might not carry much in your calves. This doesn't mean that you can't increase your calf size. I don't store much fat on my calf, but through exercise I've increased my calf size.
  • brscott22
    Options
    In small part genetic, mostly diet and activity level. I'm fairly lean but my calves are a pretty good size. I've noticed throughout my weight loss/fitness journey my bust, waist, and hip measurements have decreased, but my forearm, upper arm, thigh, and calf measurements have gone up. It really just comes down to how much muscle you have on your calves and how much fat you have. Where you store fat is genetic so you might not carry much in your calves. This doesn't mean that you can't increase your calf size. I don't store much fat on my calf, but through exercise I've increased my calf size.
    I don't think I carry any extra fat in my lower body unfortunately, just my stomach
  • Dave198lbs
    Dave198lbs Posts: 8,810 Member
    Options
    In small part genetic, mostly diet and activity level.

flip this around and you have your answer
  • ilovedeadlifts