Third Year MFP Anniversary

Options
JeanneTops
JeanneTops Posts: 2,601 Member
Three years ago, this coming Saturday, I joined MFP. I set myself one goal - to not gain the weight back.

I'm 5'6", it was my 58th birthday, I weighed 242 pounds. I'd been fighting being overweight all my life. I'd lost 50+ pounds and then regained it plus more, at least once a decade. Although I'd always been healthy, I was facing the last third of my life and I knew I was destroying that good health.

I used the MFP tools to figure out how much I could eat once I reached a healthy BMI and that's been my calorie goal (including exercise calories) ever since. I lost 67 pounds the first year and 28 pounds by August of the second year. I've been maintaining that weight loss for the past 16 months.

I log everything I eat after I've eaten it.

I started out exercising on our elliptical trainer for 20 minutes at a time, 5 days a week. Now I run, bike, swim and use the elliptical for an hour every day, 6 days a week.

Very importantly, I've made some good, supportive friends on the Motivation forum (yay Black Team of Champions!), something I never expected and they've helped me tremendously through maintenance. I wouldn't have lasted this long without them.

My weight fluctuates within a five pound range on a day-to-day basis. I weigh myself every morning but I only record an "official" weight on Wednesdays. I use the top range times as motivation to be careful, I use the bottom range times as motivation to stay being careful.

I posted this on an earlier thread about maintenance and I'm going to repeat it here:

Maintenance is harder than losing because:

1. You exercise all the same self-restraint that you do when losing and it doesn't get much easier to do;

2. You don't get any of the thrills of losing - no lower numbers, no smaller clothes, no excited compliments. You and everybody else get used to the way you look. Life becomes normal.

3. There is skin sagging somewhere on your body.