When are calories absorbed?

Options
I just wanted to know how calorie absorption works. And also how long does it really take for the whole calorie counting thing and exercise to show results of weight loss 1 week 2 maybe?

Replies

• mromnek
    mromnek Posts: 325
    Options
    I am not a doctor, nor a nutritionist, nor a physical trainer. But I have been reading a lot in my journey. Here are some things I learned that might help.

1. Calories are a unit of energy, specifically heat energy. Your body uses energy to keep itself going, so you are always burning calories. MFP uses a guess at how many calories your body burns when doing absolutely nothing, but lying in bed, breathing. That number is called your Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR). You can go to the tools tab and calculate what your BMR is.

2. The number I have seen thrown around states that 1 lb of body mass (I don't know if it is only for fat, or for lean mass too) is equal to 3500 calories.

So, if you have the basic equation: Calories in - calories burned [(BMR) + exercise] = calorie deficit/surplus
    - if you have 3500 calories per week deficit, you will lose 1 lb per week
    - if you have 3500 calories per week surplus, you will gain 1 lb per week
    Therefore, to lose 1 lb per week, you want your calorie deficit to be 500 calories per day (3500/7=500)

3. Your body wants to protect itself. If you do not intake enough calories to sustain itself (BMR) your body will go into starvation mode. When in starvation mode, your body will try to retain the fat because the body doesn't know when it will get energy next.

So, you will see a debate regarding eating exercise calories, or not. The debate is not limited to just MFP members, but it is raging among professional dieticians and physical trainers. I suspect the true answer lies in the individual, their BMR, and their caloric deficit/surplus.