Calorie intake, being under, over..bad??

Options
My goal is 1230 a day, I work out about 6 times a week for at least a half hour.
I am new to this, but really trying to get more healthy.
Almost everyday I am under my calorie intake, somewhere between 200 or less (under). There has been two days I have been a little over, like 100 over, and I feel like I need to stop what I am doing and go back to the gym or it will all be ruined.

What are tips on all of this, everything. And how much should I be worried about my calories? (being under or a little over)

Thanks in advance for the help! :D

Replies

• kdenee1990
    kdenee1990 Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    I'm wondering the same thing...
  • zena92
    zena92 Posts: 128 Member
    Options
    1200 really isn't enough to fuel your body if you want to lose weight, and especially if your exercising on a regular basis..say you burn 500 calories per gym session..and your 100 calories under anyway..that means really your only eating 600 calories a day...and to put it in a basis way that's not enough fuel that your body needs to burn fat..

do you mind telling us how much you weigh...your goal weight etc?
  • groversa
    groversa Posts: 450 Member
    Options
    Well I usually don't burn that much in one session, usually around 250. I weight 188 currently and am hoping to get down to around 145. (And the calories I burn do add to my calorie intake for the day, I just am 200 or so under at the end of the day). And what about being a little over like I said?
  • 3dogsrunning
    3dogsrunning Posts: 27,167 Member
    Options
    First, the goal that MFP gives you does not include exercise. MFP has created a deficit for you already, which is likely somewhere between 500-1000 calories per day.
    So on a day you eat 100 extra calories, you are still in a deficit of 400-900 calories.
    On a day you eat less, your deficit is larger.