Exercise ideas

Options
Hi everyone! I've just started mfp and love it so far! My biggest challenge is exercise. I teach full-time, always have work to do at home, and have a 3 1/2 year old daughter. I do not want to leave her at daycare all day, and then at the gym's daycare. Does anyone have any advice of effective exercise I can do at home, at little or no cost?
Thanks in advance!
Maureen

Replies

• sho3girl
    sho3girl Posts: 10,799 Member
    Options
    you tube has lots and lots sadly i dont have internet at home - zumba and jilian michaals 30 day shred ...are great examples ... find somthing fun to do with your daughter ... dancing around your living room is still moviing and getting your heart rate up.

enjoy and welcome !
  • NaomiJFoster
    NaomiJFoster Posts: 1,450 Member
    Options
    Hey! I'm a teacher too! Lots of take-home homework, ugh.

Look on You Tube. There are hundreds and hundreds of workout videos posted there. Both aerobic and strength training. There's yoga, pilates, bootcamp, dance...pretty much anything you might be interested in, you'll find videos. Personally, I like the Leslie Sansone Walk Away The Pounds and the Fitness Blender Strength Training series.

Try searching things like "Cardio workouts" "Aerobics workouts" "Weightloss exercises" "Strength training for women" stuff like that. Explore.

The thing is that you can do it at home, with very little space, and no equipment (except maybe some handweights), and completely free. If you can keep your little one occupied for 30 minutes, you can easily get some time to work on yourself right at home.
  • maryjay52
    maryjay52 Posts: 557 Member
    Options
    my daughter has a 1 1/2yr old and a 2 1/2 yr old and she is a teacher too. she bought the insanity program and uses that. she gets up an hour earlier than everyone else and does it . she said she has more energy than ever now and that she just loves the very hard and challenging workout it presents.
  • NaomiJFoster