Newbie with a Sweet Tooth

Options
Hi everyone! My name is Marie, and I'm new to MFP. I've tried many other programs over the past eight years including WW and many fads. It's my goal to lose about 30 pounds. Thanks to three major knee surgeries and being diagnosed with celiac disease (and falling into the trap of processed gluten free foods) plus an unquenchable sweet tooth, the pounds have crept up. I do go to the gym a few times a week and used to do personal training there too ($) and am working on incorporating more natural foods into my diet. My trips to the gym have resulted in my losing inches over the past couple years, but the scale has stayed within two pounds for a year now.

Does anyone have any tips for dealing with a massive sweet tooth? I didn't realize just how much sugar I eat until starting up with MFP! Any other tips/words of advice would be greatly appreciated too!

Thanks! :-)

Replies

• Sunnnnnni
    Options
    Hi Marie... I'm Karla. I have about 30 lbs to lose, too! I understand the sweet tooth issue as I have the SAME issue with sweet AND salty... LOL Its nice to meet you-- maybe we can motivate one another! Im here if u need to chat~!
  • mabsan
    mabsan Posts: 4
    Options
    Heya Marie,

I'm new to this whole thing too. I’ve not so much got a sweet tooth as an endless desire for carbs. My plan so far is just to cut down and I’ve purged all the cupboards in the house so there’ll be less temptation.

Good luck

Mabsan
  • juliedor
    juliedor Posts: 72 Member
    Options
    Hi Newbie,
    I'm new too.Very excited.I have lost 20kg on my own and want to lose another 17 with the help of MFP.
    Sugar is an addiction.I read a great book called Sweet Poison.It may help you.
  • marie5282
    marie5282 Posts: 61 Member
    Options
    Hi Newbie,
    I'm new too.Very excited.I have lost 20kg on my own and want to lose another 17 with the help of MFP.
    Sugar is an addiction.I read a great book called Sweet Poison.It may help you.