Eating out with the BF

So, I was just wondering how fellow MFP's out there handle situations of eating out. My BF doesnt cook that much and is doing well for himself, so he always eats out and for me it has been straining my waistline and my bankfunds! I make dinner for us about once a week, but that also strains my budget to cook for two people...

How do all of you tell your loved ones (bf, spouse, gf...whatever) that you need to focus on your weightloss and not eat out as much and that you need their support in lots of ways?

Btw: Im an intern working on my masters so I am VERY poor lol

Replies

• melsmith612
    melsmith612 Posts: 727 Member
    This came up between me and the hubby yesterday because his mom's birthday is Saturday so we're going out to lunch with his parents and we had already made plans to have "date night" tonight and go out for sushi, then he said he wanted to go out to breakfast on Saturday as well! I was like, "Whoa hold your horses!" I basically told him that I really would like to go out to eat with him three times this weekend but that I cannot do two places in a single day. I told him once per day on the weekends is going to be a new limit so I can still stay (mostly) on track during the weekends and not feel guilty.
  • now_or_never13
    now_or_never13 Posts: 1,575 Member
    You can eat out and still eat healthy and lose weight. Research.

Order things grilled, ask for no sauces, skip the fries/rice and have steamed veggies as a side.

For example... Grilled chicken, with a salad (dressing on the side) and some steamed veggies is a really good meal with not a ton of calories.
  • Say exactly what you just said.

"you need to focus on your weightloss and not eat out as much and that you need their support "
  • bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member