No Carbs!

Options
I posted a topic long ago about how I've always had stomach problems and digestive problems and things came to a hilt over winter break (I'm a high school librarian and got 2 weeks off over Christmas/New Years) that resulted in my barely being able to eat and if I did I laid on the couch feeling like I weighed 400lbs on top of just being nauseous. Fearing I had developed the stomach flu, I made a doctor's appointment and while there he asked me about my diet and came to the conclusion that I was consuming way too many carbs.

He told me to quit eating bread/pasta and all "junk food" carbs, and go on what I liken to be a "caveman diet" where I only eat meat and vegetables. He told me he didn't want me eating any more than 30g of carbs a day.

I thought I had entered a new level of hell once I started this!

But, low and behold, it's worked.

My doctors appointment was on Jan. 2nd and I weighed 244lbs that morning. This morning the scale said 235.

I feel incredibly better overall and think it's because I've cut those things out. Last Saturday I had no time between sports team commitments and hit McDonalds for a quick sandwich and felt awful about an hour later, just like I did when I ate bread! I haven't had bread since and once again feel great.

He's also got me on Omeprazole to help with stomach acid/heartburn (even though heartburn was never a problem, he just thinks stomach acid was messing me up) and probiotics and I feel great!

Now comes the problem:
While this extremely low carb diet is working....I'm getting burned out. I eat the same things all the time and have almost a regimented schedule of eating because of it.

Can anyone who has been on a diet similar to this share some recipes/ideas for meals that have little to no carbs in them so that I can spice things up and continue on?

Thanks!

Replies

• hilliardjoe
    hilliardjoe Posts: 111 Member
    Options