Timing of breakfast

Options
Hi,

Let me start by saying I am new to all this (working out, MFP,etc) so I'm sorry if this has been asked and I just couldn't find the thread.

I hear often that breakfast is the most important meal, don't skip breakfast, etc.

Does it matter the timing of breakfast? I am going to try to start working out in the morning this week so getting to the gym around 4:15am. I don't want to eat before because I get cramps if I eat before working out & I won't have time until I get to work to really have a "good" breakfast (not a granola bar type thing) so that has me eating around 7-7:30am.

Do I lose out on the benfit of eating first thing? Or is there really no timeline?

Thanks for you input.

Replies

• SideSteel
    SideSteel Posts: 11,068 Member
    Options
    Hi,

Let me start by saying I am new to all this (working out, MFP,etc) so I'm sorry if this has been asked and I just couldn't find the thread.

I hear often that breakfast is the most important meal, don't skip breakfast, etc.

Outside of behavioral/preferential effects, it is no more important than any other meal.

Does it matter the timing of breakfast? I am going to try to start working out in the morning this week so getting to the gym around 4:15am. I don't want to eat before because I get cramps if I eat before working out & I won't have time until I get to work to really have a "good" breakfast (not a granola bar type thing) so that has me eating around 7-7:30am.

Do I lose out on the benfit of eating first thing? Or is there really no timeline?

Thanks for you input.