Newest Passion: Cold Weather Running!!

Options
2»

Replies

• BurtHuttz
    BurtHuttz Posts: 3,653 Member
    Options
    Running in terrible weather, including the cold, fills me with joy.
  • martinh78
    martinh78 Posts: 601
    Options
    I'm relatively new to running but have LOVED running in the snow recently. It's my favourite "non-extreme" form of exercise! Much better than pounding the pavements!

It's not cold if you're moving, and if it is, move faster!

I don't wear a hat, just my Ronhill leggings, long sleeve baselayer with either a lightweight windstopper or a short sleeve baslayer over the top depending on conditions. Oh, and gloves if it's really cold.

Also found my normal running trainers do just fine. Thought I'd have cold, wet feet and no traction but actually they grip well in the snow and it's not until I get home I realise how wet my socks are.

Love it, wish I could run it it all year, I hate being too hot and am dreading running in the summer. Suspect I'll be a midnight runner when the time comes!
  • sammyneb
    sammyneb Posts: 257
    Options
    I LOVE to run in the cold, hate the summer! I wish there would be more races in the cold, but I guess there aren't enough of us to make it worth it :) Running in the cold is so much easier, and it takes a lot less effort. If it is about 50 degrees your body has to start to work to cool itself down, that is extra energy that could go towards your running. I bet a lot of people would have a PR if they could run more races in the winter :)
  • nicruns
    nicruns Posts: 201 Member
    Options
    DEFINITELY love winter running!
    but yes, it hit -20 today, so I'll be taking spin class instead.
    & it does make training through the summer tougher!
    but hey, I've got my long run coping mechanisms in place:
    post-run epsom salt baths in the winter...
    &
    planning my route through little public kids "splash pads" in the summer!
  • BakerRunnerBadass