Questions about 5km times

Ok, so what are some of your times? I am a TOTAL newbie at this running thing...and I find myself wondering if I can do a 5k in the near future. I know what my time is on a 3k, and will work myself up to a 5k but would like to know how others do and what advice can be given...so, what I am looking for:

Your approximate 5k time?
Advice in preparing for a 5k?

Thank you,
Steve

Replies

• RippedRunner
    RippedRunner Posts: 13 Member
    Age 33, 120 lbs (it all matters sometimes!) and my PR time is 24:35 on a hilly course. Tip: do HIIT runs once a week!
  • dsmrunner
    dsmrunner Posts: 15 Member
    First of all good for you for starting running!

Running times are highly variable, depending on your fitness level, experience, and your ability to run well and efficiently, among other things.

If you're just starting, I wouldn't worry about your time. It is what it is. Don't compare yourself to others, at least not yet.

Google "Couch to 5K" and find a training plan - many of them use walk/run intervals, which is a safe way to start. Don't do too much too quickly, your body/joints/feet/tendons/everything needs to get used to doing the work.

Good luck!
  • T1mH
    T1mH Posts: 568 Member
    Well a brisk walk puts 3 miles at 45 minutes, 15 minute miles. I think a respectable pace is 10 min. miles or a 30 minute race. That's my goal to get sub 30 minute times and then move up to 10k. The winner will probably be under 15 minutes or 5 minute miles. I started running last fall and my best 5k I was at 36 minutes. I think I'm faster now but I've mostly been training with my 8 year old for her first 5k so I haven't run 5k at my pace in a while.
  • T1mH
    T1mH Posts: 568 Member
    I second the couch to 5k idea. If your already fit or have running experience you can accelerate the schedule but I think a couch to 5k plan can get nearly anyone running 5k.

1. Step One start running
    2. There is no step two