Trying to Gain weight?

Options
Hi All!
Hi my name is Sennen and I am new to MFP. I am using MFP in conjunctuion with a workout/nutrition program to try to gain some muscle mass. I understand the majority of MFP is geared towards nutrition and exercise for weight loss, so I was wondering if anybody has similar goals to mine. I am 22 years old, 5'9" and 138lbs. I don't neccesarily want to "bulk up" per say, but I'd like to gain something close to a pound per week, and get to around 155 by my birthday in June. Anybody else have similar goals/experiences? I just want to know if this is realistic and if so is it a healthy approach, gaining mass as quickly as possible?

Replies

• SHBoss1673
    SHBoss1673 Posts: 7,161 Member
    Options
    If you're talking a pound per week muscle, that's just not gonna happen guy. That is, unless you use some kind of drugs (which I am COMPLETELY against by the way).

for the first few weeks to a month or so you may gain that kind of weight, but it actually won't be much muscle growth, it's more your body adjusting to the new workouts (adding glycogen to your body to compensate for the increased workouts).

A GOOD goal to shoot for is 2 lbs a month of muscle mass, and that's a pretty dramatic muscle gain. Now if you're talking about adding a little fat to the frame as well as muscle, well then yeah, I guess you could do 1 lb a week, but that's a slippery slope right there.

So IMHO your goal for your birthday in June should be somewhere around maybe 10 to 12 lbs total, with probably about 6 to 8 lbs of that being glycogen and water weight (to compensate for the increased muscle usage). After that, the gains will be far smaller. Maybe 3 lbs a month total with 1 to 2 of those pounds being dry muscle and the rest a glycogen mix.
  • scrawnybuilder
    Options