Major Gas Problem! Help!

Options
Sooo this is a little bit embarrassing, but I am becoming desperate for advice on the situation. Basically, on a daily basis, I have terrible gas that causes me physical pain and makes for a day full of me trying to hold my farts.

The situation is made worse because I am a teacher (actually still an intern), and I have to stand in front of high school kids and talk about history. As you might imagine, trying to make a really dramatic point about the sinking of the USS Maine can be difficult when you are trying to suppress a fart…

So basically what I’m asking is for some advice. How can I minimize this terrible gas diet? I eat a pretty healthy diet. Usually cereal with milk, yogurt, and some lentil chips for breakfast. A sandwich made with flax pita bread and an apple for lunch. Brown rice with chicken or fish for dinner and a salad.

I know a lot of these foods are very high in fiber. I don’t want to give up eating healthy just to avoid gas, but it’s gotten to be such an issue that it’s hurting my effectiveness as a teacher…

I got my gallbladder removed a couple of years ago, so I wonder if there is a connection there. My doctor says that removing the gallbladder has left me with a case of IBS. Is there anything over the counter I can take for this terrible, life-depleting gas, or do I have to start eating differently? I would appreciate tips. Thanks guys.

Replies

• EmilyOfTheSun
    EmilyOfTheSun Posts: 1,548 Member
    Options
    I know this isn't supposed to be funny, but I love your writing style. Made me laugh!!

Maybe Beano ?
  • _DaniD_
    _DaniD_ Posts: 2,186 Member
    Options
    You can either take some medication for it or cut some fiber.
  • Cinflo58
    Cinflo58 Posts: 326 Member
    Options
    flax=farts

also - could you be lactose intolerant?

here is a great website on FODMAPS diet for IBS:

http://blog.katescarlata.com/fodmaps-basics/

feel free to message me with any questions
  • bpn80