5:2 diet?

Options
2»

Replies

• JUDDDing
    JUDDDing Posts: 1,367 Member
    Options
    There was this one:

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/health-and-fitness/health/keen-to-try-a-fasting-diet-not-so-fast/article8461083/

I don't know that a 1 day fast is really extreme enough to cause the issues that they suggest though.

But, you know, in the interest of full disclosure... :)
  • dxtra30
    dxtra30 Posts: 498 Member
    Options
    For the people that do this what 2 days works best for your fasting days? Also your normal days that you eat what time do you stop eating?
  • surfinglily
    surfinglily Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I new to MFP but I'm now into my 4th week of 5:2 and have already lost 5lbs. It really works for me and I've never done a 'fad' diet before in my life. What really swayed my decision to give it a go were the health benefits of reduced cholesterol and anti-ageing effects due to minimising the body's production of IGF-1 - all back up by actual science.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-19112549

I never feel deprived and feel that this is an entirely new way of eating for me. I'd be happy to stick to it for the foreseeable future.
  • surfinglily
    surfinglily Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    For the people that do this what 2 days works best for your fasting days? Also your normal days that you eat what time do you stop eating?

I believe the key to this is to have 3x 12 hour periods of fasting in the space of 36 hours - that is, if you usually have your breakfast at 7 am, then have your dinner before your fast day at 7 pm, your low calorie breakfast as normal at 7am and your small meal on fast day at 7pm . . . .followed again by breakfast on your normal eating day at 7am. The 12 hrs fasting seems to be important.