To count or not to count?

MelissaLu
MelissaLu Posts: 83
edited September 20 in Fitness and Exercise
Just curious, is it pretty much pointless to count the calories I burn in cleaning? Sorry if this has already been answered before, I tryed searching but I couldn't find anything on it.. Really sorry if this is a stupid question.

Replies

• CoachJ77
    CoachJ77 Posts: 80 Member
    I wouldn't count it. I would just say you live a low activity lifestyle if you clean daily and not add it to your calorie count. I figure, though you are burning calories cleaning, let those be those extra cals burnt you dont think about and you will lose weight faster!
  • MelissaLu
    Ahaha, very smart way of thinking. Thanks very much for your response! I was beginning to think: yeah, that was a stupid question xD
    I think when I'm new to something, I tend to be a little overzealous
  • acureese
    acureese Posts: 169
    it's not a stupid question, I wondered the same thing before :smile: If it's small cleaning i don't add it, but if it's my day off and it's spring-cleaning-mode time and I'm cleaning for an hour or two, I tend to add it:flowerforyou:
  • kwardklinck
    kwardklinck Posts: 1,601
    It's not a stupid question at all. It's all very confusing at times. I only count the exercise I set out to do. I don't count work at all. I am set at lightly active though so it works for me.
  • Thats not a stupid question at all....when I did weight watchers housework was given a bonus point value just like anyother excercise :heart:
  • I count it if it were something I set out to do on an off day--like 5-6 hours of garage clean up. But as far as my everyday cleaning and child chasing as a SAHM...I just set my calorie count to active and I'd say it's included.

I'm afraid I'd sabotage myself if I tried to add in extras on top of scheduled exercise.
  • questionablemethods
    questionablemethods Posts: 2,174 Member