Night time eating...

Options
I do so well throughout the day, but as soon as the sun goes down.....BAM! I can't stop myself from eating everything! I'm a full time student and prefer to stay up late into the night to study. I can't seem to study without something in my hand to nibble on. Any suggestions? I know I should be eating a large breakfast to avoid later eating, but it doesn't seem to work!!! What do you guys do to avoid the night time hungries?! Thanks :3

Replies

• Jodi_83
    Jodi_83 Posts: 44 Member
    Options
    Brush your teeth?

I'm always way more tempted to eat at night - haven't really found anything that helps except brushing my teeth I guess.
  • ubermensch13
    ubermensch13 Posts: 824 Member
    Options
    I think you might have to break yourself of the habit of needing something to munch on while you study....
  • Seoul11
    Seoul11 Posts: 138 Member
    Options
    This used to be me as well. A few things I learned:

1. I wasn't eating enough during the day. For me, a medium/light breakfast, a large lunch, and a small dinner stave off nighttime hunger.

2. Change your eating and studying habits. Don't eat in front of the t.v. or computer, on the couch, at your desk... or wherever you study. Try not to eat while studying. And on the flip side, don't study in the kitchen. Keep studying and eating separate, basically. And when you're done with dinner, clean up the kitchen and brush your teeth. This kind of lets your body know you're done for the day. It's harder to snack with a nice fresh mouth.

3. Drink lots of water. Throughout the day and at night. I like herbal tea while I'm up late. It's good for you, I won't drink it too fast and have to pee all night, and the sipping gives my hands something to do other than eat.