Side Effects of Yoga

Options
Happy Friday all!

I just started practicing yoga a couple of weeks ago and I'm now totally in love! I have that it compliments my lifting routine which is StrongLifts wonderfully! I have a few different DVD's....some are much slower and relaxing and a couple are more of a workout, which is great for the rotation.

Here is what I would like to know.....what changes have you noticed in your body and/or attitude that could be attributed to yoga? I really didn't have much expectation from it except to help with flexibility, but now my whole view has changed and I could see regular practice as something that could really help get rid of some inches!

Tell me your success stories and what I have to look forward to!

Replies

• auzziecawth66
    auzziecawth66 Posts: 479 Member
    Options
    I found that after two weeks of doing it every night at home that I slept awesome, it helped me with my post partum depression (I just felt happier and more patient), I had more energy and motivation, and I also noticed a bit of a difference in my upper body strength. Also not sure if this was in my head or not or if it was the practice from controlling my breathing or something but that I had a way easier time doing my cardio workouts...
  • Yogi_Carl
    Yogi_Carl Posts: 1,906 Member
    Options
    Oh - goodness - there are so many. I'll offer this one - it seems to be commonly accepted that a strong core is something to do with visible six pack, but Yoga will show you that you can suck your abdomen right up toward the inner side of your spine and really tone the abdominl section and give your organs a real good squeezing out of toxins and replace with oxygenating blood. You feel great afterwards.

Yoga helps to create that sucked in mid section and broad shoulder line and develop a fine muscular physique that is neither skinny or bulky.
  • Will_Thrust_For_Candy
    Will_Thrust_For_Candy Posts: 6,109 Member
    Options