Does frying your food add calories?

Options
I know, I sound so stupid... But I'm new to this counting calories thing. I bought chicken patties to eat. They have 140 calories, and I'm just wondering if I log that in as a Quick Add Calories, if I fry it, does that add more calories? I'm sorry for this crazy question.

Replies

• KANGOOJUMPS
    KANGOOJUMPS Posts: 6,473 Member
    Options
    most of the time, yep,
  • kennie2
    kennie2 Posts: 1,171 Member
    Options
    if you use oil then yes. just measure out the oil and log that too
  • Keiras_Mom
    Keiras_Mom Posts: 844 Member
    Options
    If you dry fry it, no added calories. If you fry in oil, you have to count the calories in the oil.
  • sprintto50
    sprintto50 Posts: 410 Member
    Options
    If you add fat to the pan, it will add some calories. Take a guess based on what you are using to fry them.
  • fabulara
    fabulara Posts: 94 Member
    Options
    Probably. Sigh. I haven't been counting any oil used for frying, but I suppose it would count. sigh.
  • DeeDel32
    DeeDel32 Posts: 542 Member
    Options
    Not if you use vegetable oil, then it's good for you. :wink:

Seriously though, yes, it unfortunately adds calories and fat in addition to the flavour.
  • ZambiNan
    ZambiNan Posts: 61 Member
    Options
    They'll absorb some oil as you're frying them, so, yes. It's hard to say how much though- you might want to measure the oil carefully.
  • Jemmuno
    Jemmuno Posts: 413 Member
    Options
    It depends on how much oil you use. If I use my pam spray I don't add it, if I use TBSs of Olive oil heck yes I add it
  • pastryari
    pastryari Posts: 8,646 Member
    Options
    If you're frying it in oil, then yes you should be logging the oil.
  • ajhugz
    ajhugz Posts: 452 Member
    Options
    Yes your food absorbs some of the oil when its fried.
  • 77tes
    77tes Posts: 8,004 Member
    Options