I don't get it.

Options
I spent all morning looking up the specifics, my tdee, bmr, bmi ect. It gave me 2800 in calories. Everyone Stressed how you should stay at your tdee to loose weight, if not slightly under I dont know what im doing wrong.. i am aiming for 2200 so its 20% under, I filled out my daily log in and it came up my weight now and said you will be at this weight in 5 weeks. Someone explain. Please. Haha

Replies

• kr1stadee
    kr1stadee Posts: 1,774 Member
    Options
    I'm just learning about this myself. I think eating at TDEE = maintenance. Eating below TDEE but above BMR will = weight loss.
    Some eat at TDEE minus 20%, some minus 10%
  • amberlykay1014
    amberlykay1014 Posts: 608 Member
    Options
    I think most people mean that you should eat at least your BMR, which is the minimum amount of calories that your body needs to function normally. Your TDEE is what you burn all day, which includes your exercise calories. Most people suggest you should eat --20% TDEE to lose weight safely, but that may be too aggressive a cut for people who only have a little to lose or who are close to their goal weight. All numbers are basically an estimation.

I did the calculators and my BMR is around 1362 and at lightly active my TDEE is around 2100. I usually eat around 1900 or so and I do not add any exercise calories since they are already calculated into my TDEE. Also I'm 5'4" and 136lbs.

I hope you found this helpful. :flowerforyou:
  • amberlykay1014
    amberlykay1014 Posts: 608 Member
    Options
    I'm just learning about this myself. I think eating at TDEE = maintenance. Eating below TDEE but above BMR will = weight loss.
    Some eat at TDEE minus 20%, some minus 10%

Yes, you're right. You can eat your TDEE every day and not gain weight. Only if you go over TDEE.

ETA: This is, of course, for most people who have normal metabolisms, barring any other medical problems.
  • Ed98043
    Ed98043 Posts: 1,333 Member
    Options