First time - Need help with feeling discouraged

Hi MFP!

This is my first time participating in the forums. I'm here to just get some feelings off my chest as well as seek support.
Over the past two months I've been feeling increasingly discouraged about my weight and it's been affecting my motivation to change.
First some backstory: This summer I was really getting into riding my bike and was seeing some weight loss from that. In the middle of the summer I broke my ankle when I fell off my bike and I haven't been able to get back into a good routine of exercise since. Of course, I was laid up with my foot in a cast for months and then with limited mobility once I was out of the cast, but I've been able to walk without support since November and I haven't found my exercise rhythm again. Since the summer I've gone from 180ish to 200lbs. I feel like I'm slowly being swallowed up by this excess weight. Most of the weight seems to have come on since January. I haven't been north of 190lbs in close to 5 years and this "milestone" has been really affecting my mood and motivation. The more I gain, the more hopeless and discouraged I feel, the less inclined I am to actually get up and move. It feels like I'm sinking and that I'm alone.

I have had weight loss success in the past (down to 160 when I did WW 3 years ago) and I want to be back there. This recent weight gain makes me feel like a failure. As I write this I know how irrational it sounds and that I should just get up and do something, but I am still stuck. Also, I would rejoin WW but I'm broke as a joke these days. I've been using MFP but it doesn't quite motivate me like WW and its weekly weigh-ins did.

If you've ever been stuck in one of these places in your life, how did you get out of it?
Also, if you've never been a habitually active person, how did you take exercise from being a chore to an integral, daily part of your life?

Thanks for listening
-Erin

Replies

• Lizzy622
    Lizzy622 Posts: 3,705 Member