Healthy snacks for a student on a budget

Options
Hi! I am still somewhat new to the weight loss world, and I was wondering what some cheap, healthy (and yummy!) would be? I know the basics: apples, celery, etc... But, as a student, I find myself eating the quick and easy snacks like chips and all those sorts of things :(.

What I am looking for is something a bit more appealing than celery.. It's so plain :(.

Please help! I have my graduation next year, and I'd love to be able to wear whatever dress I want, instead of trying to cover my stomach or arms...

Thank you.

Replies

• seif0068
    seif0068 Posts: 193 Member
    Options
    To make fruit more interesting, I have a basic fruit dip recipe that is low cal and feels a little more like a treat. Mix fat-free sour cream with a bit of brown sugar and vanilla. I think I do 1/2 cup sour cream to 1 Tbsp brown sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Delicious!

Other cheap things I snack on are string cheese and hard-boiled eggs - I do these as a pre-workout snack about an hour before exercising because they have a fair amount of protein.

As a student this can be tough, but keep an eye out for coupons and buy things when they are on sale. String cheese can be kind of expensive but you can get a bunch of it on sale and freeze it!
  • seif0068
    Options
    Fat-free Greek yogurt is another good one...again, can be spendy but if you find coupons or wait for sales it can be a lot more reasonable!
  • crystalmoore83
    crystalmoore83 Posts: 103 Member
    Options
    I just recently found plentils and I love them, they are lentil chips and only 130 calories per serving (31 pieces)...great for when you need a salty crunchy fix
  • seif0068
    Options
    Oh and Townhouse reduced fat crackers - there are 60 calories in 6 crackers. I will have those with string cheese when I want something kind of salty!
  • MichelleZannone
    Options