Logging Restaurant Food

Options
Tomorrow night I am going out for dinner to a restaurant which is not a chain, so there will not be nutritional info available. How do you go about logging such a meal....do people just guess roughly what they ate?

Replies

• BlueObsidian
    BlueObsidian Posts: 297 Member
    Options
    I look for chain restaurants that have a similar dish and use that number. It's not a perfect solution, but I'm not very good at trying to eyeball portion sizes on the plate (plus restaurants always use more butter/oil/salt than you think).
  • chadewey2000
    chadewey2000 Posts: 57 Member
    Options
    I have found that a lot of resturants that are not chains sometimes provide nutritional values on their websites..If that does not work try breaking the meal down and search for each component seperatly.
  • goldie21047
    goldie21047 Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    I've been doing what BlueObsidian said. It seems to be working okay for me.
  • acpgee
    acpgee Posts: 7,718 Member
    Options
    It won't be super accurate, but there are a lot of restaurant dishes in the database--ie eggs benedict, Vietnamese papaya salad, etc. If I can't find something comparable, I guess the ingredients. Don't forget to log the butter and oil used in cooking. I eat out quite a lot. My diary is open to friends.
  • Eat2Win
    Eat2Win Posts: 123 Member
    Options
    I break my meals down the best I can according to MFP database and if the food is somehow oily, I add a Tbsp or 2 of olive oil to the calculations. I feel that I would rather over do it then underdo it so I know better how to proceed :)
  • kr1stadee
    kr1stadee Posts: 1,774 Member
    Options
    I look for chain restaurants that have a similar dish and use that number. It's not a perfect solution, but I'm not very good at trying to eyeball portion sizes on the plate (plus restaurants always use more butter/oil/salt than you think).

Yep!!
  • jack1925
    jack1925 Posts: 186 Member