Is there any cardio that is easy on the legs?

Amylynn
Amylynn Posts: 242 Member
edited September 20 in Fitness and Exercise
Hello

I have been working out for the last 2 months about 3x per week for an hour a day. The last 3 weeks I decided to step it up & work out 5-6x per week for about 1 1/2-2 hours a day because I want to accelerate my weight loss. When I started 2 months ago, I weighed 261 lbs. I want to get down to 190 lbs. with my 1st mini-goal being 230 lbs. Currently, I weigh 246 lbs.

Cardio plays a big part in my exercising because I have so much weight to lose. It is to my understanding that I need to be doing at least 30 mins of cardio each day I work out, and then I alternate the muscle groups that I weight train on. My problem is that because every form of cardio I do involves my legs, my legs are killing me:sad:

Are there any forms of cardio that will burn a decent amount of calories but won't be so hard on my legs? Also, any suggestions to direct how I workout to maximize weight loss would be greatly appreciated:flowerforyou: .

Replies

• Amylynn
    Also, I am looking for ab exercises that a person with a big belly can do because I feel like my belly gets in the way when attempting to do some ab moves.
  • Opera_Bound
    Opera_Bound Posts: 291 Member
    My suggestion is to swim - if you're able. I live in Florida so I realize the amount of time per year we can swim outdoors is deifnitely different from those who reside north of us. :wink: Anyway, swimming is a great cardio workout as you have to manage your breath while using all muscle groups. Even consider a water areobics class. Yes, you'll be using your legs, but it's far less impact that running/jogging.

:flowerforyou: Hope that helps! Best of luck to you!
  • Edestiny7
    Edestiny7 Posts: 730 Member